Dying a Hero

Posted: April 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

“To die for your country is sweet and good.” That quote can stir up a lot of different opinions depending on people’s beliefs. I believe this is right because I for one have a little patriotism in me so I would not find it a disappointing death dying while defending my country. So yes, I do believe it is sweet and good for two reasons, the first one being that I died protecting the people that I love’s well being and livelihood, and second, I died protecting the country in which I was born and had some great times in. These two reasons therefore say that I died a hero.

Even though I feel that way, people who have been in the war seem to disagree with me which is evident in quotes in All Quiet On The Western Front like “War is a cause of death like cancer and tuberculosis, like influenza and dysentery. The deaths are merely more frequent, more varied and terrible.” Also, there are quotes that can change someone like me’s mind like “He fires- the same moment a bullet smacks into him, they have got him.” Also showing how your friends can die without you even knowing ” There is jsut one little hole, it must have been a very tiny splinter. But it has sufficed. Kat is dead.” Another shows how people would rather die than continue on with life after being wounded ilke “If they take off my leg, I’ll put an end of it.” On the other hand, a heroic quote would be “A second machine gun bursts out. It is set up in a crater alongside us. Berger has fetched it.” That quote shows that people will risk their lives for their country and army colleagues.

Leave a Reply

