Poetry Out Loud Business

Posted: January 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

Momma Said

By Calvin Forbes

“The slice I ate I want it back
Those crumbs I swept up
I’d like my share again
I can still taste it like it was

The memory by itself is delicious
Each bite was a small miracle
Both nourishing and sweet
I wish I had saved just a little bit

I know it wasn’t a literal cake
It’s the thought that counts
Like a gift that’s not store-bought
Making it even more special  

Like a dream that makes you
Want to go back to sleep
You can’t have your cake
And eat it too Momma said

I was defiant and hardheaded
And answered yes I can too
The look she gave me said boy
I hope you aren’t a fool all your life”
 
I liked this poem for a number of reasons, for one, it just seems like a nice poem that reminds you of what every mom will tell her child “mommy knows best”. In a way this is true, I also see that the poem has a subliminal meaning of something greater than cake.
 
1. The first piece of the poem that I liked from the poem was

“The slice I ate I want it back
Those crumbs I swept up
I’d like my share again
I can still taste it like it was

The memory by itself is delicious
Each bite was a small miracle
Both nourishing and sweet
I wish I had saved just a little bit”
 
-I liked this mostly because I like cake, and to be honest, this describes exactly how I feel after I’m done with it.
 
2. Another part of the poem I like from Momma Said is when he said “I know it wasn’t a literal cake”- which comes right after “The slice I ate… Saved just a little bit.” The reason I really like this line is because I feel like it has a meaning far greater than cake. What I’m getting at is that all the cherishing that he has just been talking about might actually be directed at his mother instead. When he says “I wish I had saved just a little bit.” It makes me think that he wished that he could savor the days he spent with his mom.
 
3. Finally, I like the ending in which it says 

“Like a dream that makes you
Want to go back to sleep
You can’t have your cake
And eat it too Momma said

I was defiant and hardheaded
And answered yes I can too
The look she gave me said boy
I hope you aren’t a fool all your life”
 
-This says to me that no matter how much you want to believe you’re right, mom always knows best and that someday you’ll come along.
 
Leave a Reply

